Tell me about the great garbage patch?

The "garbage patch" is a popular name for concentrations of marine debris in the North Pacific Ocean. It occupies a relatively stationary region of the North Pacific Ocean bounded by the North Pacific Gyre in the horse latitudes. It is a soupy mess of garbage, mostly plastics.