What does s. y. m. n. e. t. r. y. spell?

S-Y-M-M-E-T-R-Y spells "symmetry," which refers to something of balanced proportions. Most often it describes a condition in which one half of something looks like a mirror image of the other, but it can also refer to a similarity between events.