How long can cooked rice stay out?

according to the kitchn.com,When the cooked rice isn't handled,cooled,stored,or reheated properly,the bacteria can cause food poisoning,So,if you left cooked rice sitting at room temperature for more than two hours before stashing it in the fridge,might be better to toss it in the compost or trash.