How was the statue of liberty damage in nineteen sixteen?

On July 30th, 1916, an act of sabotage by German saboteurs detonated a colossal explosion at a nearby munitions dump known as the Black Tom explosion, which forever damaged the Statue of Liberty, making the ladder up in the torch off limits.