Does the fork go on the right or the left of the plate?

Forks are to the left side of the plate, with various forks in a formal setting working from the outside in. Thus, a salad fork or fish fork would be to the left of the dinner fork. If the dessert course requires a fork, it should be placed horizontally above the plate.