What is the pod bay door?

In the movie "2001: A Space Odyssey," the phrase "Open the pod bay doors, Hal" is a command to the computer to open up the doors to the place where the pods are stored. Pods in the movie are the vehicles the astronauts use to drive around in space. And a bay is a compartment inside of a ship.