What is the difference between steel and iron?

Iron is a naturally occurring element in the universe - a pure metal with known characteristics of strength, density, melting point, & electrical conductivity. Steel is a metallic compound using a combination of materials adjusted for a desirable set of characteristics based upon its intended use.