Is there a desert in texas?

The roughly 200,000 square-mile Chihuahuan Desert stretches across six Mexican states and parts of Texas and New Mexico. It is the largest desert in North America and is located between two of Mexico’s largest mountain ranges called the eastern and western Sierra Madre.