Is groot dead?

No. After being snapped out of existence in Avengers: Infinity War, Groot returned in Avengers: Endgame and survived the final battle with Thanos.

---

Groot is not dead. He just lost so much of his body mass saving the rest of the team that he only had one baby shoot left over. He is growing up quickly though.