Do trolls live under bridges?

Trolls have a very diverse history in folklore. In old Norse, they are said to dwell in isolated rocks mountains or caves. They came into the English language in 1859 with the translation of oral Norse tradition including the story "Three Billy Goats Gruff" which featured a troll under a bridge.