Who owns public supermarkets?

Publix is a private company that is the largest employee-owned grocery store chain in the United States, with employees owning about 80% of the company. The remaining 20% or so is owned by the Jenkins family

---

The Jenkins family...Publix was founded in 1930 by George W. Jenkins, it is a private corporation that is wholly owned by present and past employees and members of the Jenkins family.