What's the fastest mile ever run by a human?

Hicham El Guerrouj is the current men's record holder with his time of 3:43.13, while Svetlana Masterkova has the women's record of 4:12.56. Since 1976, the mile has been the only non-metric distance recognized by the IAAF for record purposes.