What is a trip to the moon about?

The plot behind A Trip to the Moon is apretty simple a group of professors uses a giant cannon to launch themself to the moon and then take a nap on the lunar surface kill a bunch of moon aliens, return to Earth with a splashdown in the ocean and celebrate their journey with a parade within the city