Why is the republican party represented by an elephant?

An image of an elephant was featured as a Republican symbol in at least one political cartoon and a newspaper illustration during the Civil War (when “seeing the elephant” was an expression used by soldiers to mean experiencing combat). The symbol really took off when Tomas Nast started using it.