Are acorns edible for humans?

Raw acorns contain tannins which can be toxic to humans and cause an unpleasant bitter taste. They are also poisonous to horses, cattle and dogs. The process to make acorns edible is called leaching. Leaching removes some of the tannins from the acorn making them much more pleasant to eat.