Can i use baking soda instead of baking powder in a recipe?

Yes, To substitute baking powder in a recipe, start by adding 1 teaspoon of baking soda to the dry ingredients for every 3 teaspoons of baking powder the recipe calls. Then, add one quarter teaspoon of lemon juice to the wet ingredients for every 1 teaspoon of baking soda you used.