What is a contact made out of?

Most extended wear contact lenses are made out of silicone hydrogel - a material that combines the water-absorbing plastic of soft lenses with silicone. Adding silicone to the hydrogel plastic creates a lens that stays moist and allows more oxygen to transmit through the contact lens into the eye.