What is the thirty second rule?

The 5 second rule is the old adage that food dropped on the floor for five seconds is clean—or at least it’s less likely to be dirty than if it sits there. Students at U.K.’s Aston University tested the theory by dropping different foods on different floor surfaces for 5 to 30 seconds.