What is a fake diamond?

From Wikipedia, Cubic zirconia is the cubic crystalline form of zirconium dioxide. The hard synthesized material is usually colorless,but may be a variety of colors. Because of its durability,and close visual likeness to diamond, cubic zirconia has remained a competitor for diamonds since 1976.