What is the shortest letter?

The shortest letter ever written was a tie between Victor Hugo and his publisher. In 1862, Hugo wondered how his latest book was selling, and sent a letter consisting only of a question mark. The publisher responded with an exclamation point. (The book was "Les Miserables.")