What was the deadliest heatwave?

The 1936 North American heat wave was one of the most severe heat waves in the modern history of North America. It took place during the Great Depression and the Dust Bowl of the 1930s. It caused catastrophic human suffering with the death toll exceeded 5,000, and with enormous economic toll.