What is the mark of the beast?

The Book of Revelation states that the mark of the beast is a number associated with the name of a man. In Hebrew, each letter of the alphabet is a number, so the beast is a man whose name adds up to 6 6 6. The name of the Roman emperor, Nero Caesar, who persecuted Christians, added up to 6 6 6.