What gardening zone is massachusetts in?

Zones in Massachusetts range from 5a in the Berkshire mountains to 7a on Cape Cod. Most of western Massachusetts is in zone 5b, while most areas in coastal eastern Mass are now designated as zone 6b, where the average annual extreme minimum winter temperature is between 0 and -5 degrees F.