What is the definition of an audible?

In football, an audible is a play called by the quarterback while already in formation. It is effectively a quick replacement play for what had been called in the huddle.

---

Usually, the quarterback will call an offensive play in the huddle. But when he gets to the line of scrimmage, he might decide to change the play because of the way the defense is lined up--this is called "an audible."