What does krampus do with children?

I never met Krampus, but according to legend he punishes children who misbehave. He reportedly visits naughty children in Europe on December fifth, which is the night before the feast of Saint Nicholas. Just before his arrival, he shakes eerie bells so the children know he is coming.