Is tapioca a fruit?

Tapioca is not a fruit. It is the starch extracted from the root of the cassava plant.

---

No, tapioca is a starch that is extracted from the roots of the cassava plant. Most people know tapioca from the pudding. Tapioca makes excellent pudding because the starch and the pearls have a taste, unlike flour or cornstarch, that really come out when a little sugar is added.