What is the definition of a gin?

Gin is a distilled alcoholic drink that derives its predominant flavour from juniper berries. Gin originated as a medicinal liquor made by monks and alchemists across Europe, particularly in southern France, Flanders and the Netherlands, to provide aqua vita from distillates of grapes and grains.