What's the difference between cultured sour cream and regular sour cream?

According to the California Department of Food, cultured sour cream has bacteria added that sours and thickens the milk over time. The other type is acidified sour cream, which has vinegar or another acid added directly to it.

---

Cultured cream has higher butter fat and milder taste than sour cream. Very good for dessert recipes. Very good for making scones.