What is dutch apple pie?

The main difference between a regular apple pie, and a Dutch apple pie, is the top layer of the pie. Dutch apple pies have a crumbly topping, while traditional apple pies are topped with pie crust. The crumbly topping on a Dutch apple pie is typically made from flour, brown sugar, and butter.