When should you change cat litter?

You should change cat litter at least once a week, ideally twice a week, and promptly remove all clumps from the litter box as soon as possible. Cats are fastidious animals and genuinely appreciate a clean litter box. Some will refuse to use a dirty, smelly litter box, which will cause problems.