What are the joker?

The Joker is a playing card found in most modern card decks, as an addition to the standard four suits. A joker is also a person, fellow, etc.; esp., one deserving contempt, as because of being foolish, inept, or disagreeable. The Joker is also a comic book & movie villain in the Batman stories.