How many jungles are there in the world?

According to National Geographic Society tropical rainforests exist on an area of 1.2 billion hectares (3 billion acres) in South America, Africa, Asia and Australia.

---

While there is no precise count available, at least two sources indicate that the number of jungles on Earth is around 700.