What types of herpes are there?

There are actually eight different types of herpes that can affect humans, ranging from the relatively common H S V-1, and H S V-2 to recurrent viruses like HHV-3 (shingles), HHV-4 and recently observed forms of the virus, such as HHV-6, 7 and 8