How long does the smell of a skunk last?

Mild skunk odors can be eliminated with proper ventilation, usually within 14 to 21 days. However, stronger odors, such as those that have seeped into clothing, furniture and pet fur, cannot be eliminated. If no immediate action is taken, untreated skunk smell can last for months or even years.