What is it take to be an astronaut?

NASA's website lists these criteria for astronaut hopefuls: Be a U.S. citizen. Have a master's degree in a STEM field from an accredited institution. Have at least 2 years of related professional experience or 1,000+ hours pilot-in-command time on jet aircraft. Be able to pass the NASA physical.

---

Years of education and experience. Be a U.S. citizen. Have a master's degree in a STEM field from an accredited institution. Have at least 2 years of related professional experience or 1,000+ hours pilot-in-command time on jet aircraft. Be able to pass the NASA physical.