What is farmer giles?

Farmer Giles of Ham is a comic Medieval fable written by J.R.R. Tolkie. It is about how Farmer Giles becomes an accidental hero. Giles battles a wily dragon named Chrysophylax, managing to use these encounters to rise from humble beginnings to rival the king of the land.