What's an after dinner wine?

After dinner wines, or dessert wines, are typically served as dessert or as an accompaniment with dessert. When served with dessert, after dinner wines should match the sweetness of the dish. Some examples of after dinner wines are Port, Sauternes, and Muscat. There are many varietals of each wine.