How many years does it take to get to the sun?

Earth is on average about 150 million kilometres (93 million miles) from the sun. Light will cross this distance in about 8.3 minutes. Spacecraft travel at lower speeds and take longer. For example, the Parker Solar Probe was launched in 2018 and will make its closest approach to the sun in 2025.