What's a mosasaurus?

Mosasaurus, an enormous aquatic lizard, lived 82-66 million years ago during the late Cretaceous. They lived in the Atlantic Ocean, & are named after the Meuse river, where the 1st fossils were found. They were not sea dinosaurs, but a separate group of reptiles, closer to modern snakes & lizards.