What was the biggest lottery ever won?

$1.59 billion, Jan.13, 2016 Three winners claimed the Powerball prize that would be the biggest jackpot in history. Maureen Smith and David Kaltschmidt ; Marvin and Mae Acosta ; and John and Lisa Robinson claimed the three tickets with a cash value of $327.8 million each.