How do you put a timer on the tv?

smart tvs have, menu settings, for timers. Usually, you can set a timer to turn off the tv at a set time and also turn the TV on. Timers for watching programs would be from your tv content provider, such as cable or satellite company, and you would need to use the menu on the receiver box.