How are erasers made?

Rubber is mixed with pigments, vegetable oil, pumice, and sulfur. This mixture is heated, causing the sulfur to vulcanize it, making it more stable. The mixture is forced through a die to form a long cylinder. The cylinder is repeatedly cut, as it emerges, forming plugs to attach to pencils.