Why did the united states go to war?

It is rare for a war to have a single cause. Where power is shared among multiple institutions and actors, there will always be multiple causes. Usually, it is easy to trace causes back to economic advantage but intangible factors such as honor, respect, religion, prejudice and history are factors.