What was the attack on pearl harbor?

The Japanese attacked pearl harbor in the attempt to disable the pacific fleet before their invasion of several pacific islands the very next day. The original plan was to attack pearl harbor twice, and the failure to do so was a big mistake. Some of the fleet survived to fight.