What is a turn down service?

The turndown service goes back to the 18th century. It is to ensure that a guest feel the highest level of comfort before they retired to bed. Hotel staff will "turn down" the bed linen and comforter in a room, thus preparing the bed for use. Turndown service was once reserved for VIP guests only