What's the fastest jet in the world?

The fastest jet in the world is the North American X15, which was introduced in 1959. It has a top speed of Mach 6.72 or 5156 m.p.h.. First Flights were made with two rocket engines. Later, it underwent evolution and used only a single XLR99 engine.