How is a cucumber a fruit?

Vegetables, are the plant parts such as roots, leaves, and stems, that do not contain the seeds. Since the cucumber, is the edible seed bearing part of the plant , it is technically a fruit, as also are, tomatoes, squash, zucchini, and peppers.