What is a palmeir cookie?

Palmiers are a classic French pastry and cookie all in one, made from puff pastry and sugar, and then baked. Palmiers cookies are also known as elephant ear cookies, or palm leaf cookies for their resemblance to a palm tree leaf (palmier is the French translation of “palm leaf”).