Why should you water your plants with coffee?

The lower the pH, the more acid; in other words, coffee is pretty acidic. Most plants grow best in slightly acid to neutral pH (5.8 to 7). Tap water is slightly alkaline with a pH greater than 7. Therefore, using diluted coffee for plants can increase the acidity of the soil.