Do bats bite people?

Bats always try to avoid contact with humans and other animals. Bats do not bite unless they are provoked.

---

Although no species of bat in the world preys on people, bat bites commonly occur during self-defense. Never handle a wild bat! If there is one trapped in your home, remove it with a net or call for professional assistance. Bat bites can carry diseases such as rabies.